The Hindu Trinity

Shiva Parvati Ganesh

Shiva, Parvati, and Ganesh

Saraswati and Brahma

Saraswati and Brahma








Vishnu and Lakshmi

Vishnu and Lakshmi

Any study of Hindu gods and goddesses must begin with the basic Hindu trinity.  The Hindu trinity is said to represent God or the divine spirit in its threefold nature and function.  This is much like the Christian trinity of God as Father, Son and Holy Ghost.  The Hindu trinity includes Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva.  Brahma is the Creator, Vishnu the preserver, and Shiva is the destroyer of the universe.

Each of the Gods in the trinity has a goddess as his partner.  Brahma’s companion is Saraswati, the Goddess of knowledge.  Vishnu’s partner is Lakshmi, the Goddess of love, beauty and delight.  And Shiva’s wife is Kali (Parvati), the Goddess of power, destruction and transformation.  The Goddesses are often worshipped in their own right in addition to with their spouses.

These are the three main forms of the Gods and Goddesses.  All other Hindu Gods and Goddesses are derived from them.


3 thoughts on “The Hindu Trinity

  1. Pingback: A little more about the Hindu Trinity (Trimurthi) | Welcome to Project Teach a Child

  2. Pingback: Happy Krishna Janmashtami! On this day Lord Krishna was born.

  3. Pingback: An Introduction to Lord Krishna | Welcome to Project Teach a Child

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>