The many different kinds of yoga | Yoga practices and benefits – Part 4


The practice of yoga is good for everyone.

The practice of yoga is good for everyone.

(Go back to part 1, part 2, part 3)

Jivamukti Yoga:

Jivamukti yoga was developed in 1986 by Sharon Gannon and David Life.  It expresses the moral and spiritual aspects of the practice of yoga that have been so overlooked or devalued in the modern practice of yoga.  It includes vigorous and challenging poses (asanas), but the emphasis is on Sanskrit chanting, scriptural study, vegetarianism, meditation, non-violence, and devotion to God.  Music also plays a large role in this kind of yoga. 

Kali Ray TriYoga:

Kali Ray TriYoga was developed by Kali Ray in 1980.  This practice includes a series of flowing, dancelike movements as well as breathing exercises (pranayama) and meditation.  Right now Kali Ray runs a TriYoga Sudio in Santa Cruz, CA.

Kripalu Yoga:

Kripalu yoga is called the yoga of consciousness. This yoga is gentle and introspective and encourages practitioners to hold poses to explore and release spiritual and emotional blockages.  Precise alignment is not as important as in some other traditions and a results oriented attitude is discouraged. There are three stages in this type of yoga. The first stage focuses on learning the postures and exploring your bodies limits and abilities. The second stage involves holding the postures for an extended time to develop, focus, concentration and inner awareness. The third stage is a meditation in motion in which the movement from one posture to another happens unconsciously and spontaneously.

donate to badarikashrama

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>