The many different kinds of yoga | Yoga practices and benefits – Part 3

Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar Yoga

Integral Yoga:

Integral yoga combines postures, breathing exercises, meditation, selfless service , chanting, self-inquiry , and prayer.


ISHTA stands for Integral Science of Hatha and Tantric Arts.  It was developed in South Africa by teacher Mani Finger, and popularized in the United States by his son Alan Finger. It focuses on opening the Chakras, energy channels throughout the body, with postures, meditation, and visualizations.

Iyengar Yoga:

Iyengar yoga was developed by yoga master B.K.S. Iyengar more than sixty years ago.  It promotes flexibility, strength, balance, and endurance through coordinating breathing and poses. The poses require precise body alignment and are generally held longer than in other styles of yoga. In this form of yoga you slowly move into a pose, hold it for a minute or so, and then rest for a few breaths before moving into another pose. The thing that distinguished Iyengar yoga from types of yoga is the use of equipment like blankets, cushions, blocks, and straps to help the less flexible. Iyengar incorporates the traditional postures (asanas) that make up the broader category of hatha yoga, but the use of cushions and other props revolutionized yoga by enabling even the sick, elderly, and disabled to practice yoga. Because of the attention to detail, slow pace, and use of various props, Iyengar yoga is especially good if you are recovering from an injury. And, because of its accessibility to a wider population, Iyengar yoga is one of the most popular types of yoga practiced today.

(Go back to Part 1, Part 2)

donate to badarikashrama


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>