The many different kinds of yoga | Yoga practices and benefits – Part 1

The Practice of Anusara yoga

The Practice of Anusara yoga

In the introduction to yoga I mentioned that there are about 20 different styles of yoga.  This article is the beginning of a series of blogs to describe the many styles and their benefits.

Ananda Yoga:

Ananda Yoga focuses on gentle postures designed to prepare the body for meditation by moving the energy up to the brain. It also focuses on proper body alignment and learning to control breathing.

Anusara Yoga:

Ansusara Yoga is a relatively new form of yoga and was developed in 1997.  It pairs a playful spirit with strict principles of alignment. Even though postures can be challenging, the true message of Anusara yoga is to open your heart and strive to connect with the divine in yourself and in others.

Ashtanga (or Astanga) Yoga:

This is the name given to the system of yoga taught by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. Ashtanga yoga is physically intense because it involves synchronizing breath work with a progressive and continuous series of postures.  This process produces intense internal heat and a profuse and purifying sweat that detoxifies muscles and organs.  Ashtanga is an athletic yoga that should not be practiced by beginners. Results of this yoga include improved circulation, flexibility, stamina, a light and strong body, and a peaceful mind.

donate to badarikashrama

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>